Noble County Sheriff's Department, Douglas A. Harp - Sheriff; Albion, Indiana Noble County Sheriff's Home Page About The Noble County Sheriff Contact Information Career Opportunities Frequently Asked Questions Links Indiana's Most Wanted Indiana Sex Offender RegistryIndiana Department of Correction SAVIN and ALERT Notification Service

Enforcement Staff

Chief Deputy Chad Willett

Chief Deputy Chad Willett is the second-in-command of the Sheriff’s Department, and in the absence of the Sheriff, acts on his behalf. He has authority over all areas, but just as with the Sheriff, functions through the chain of command.

The Enforcement Division of the Noble County Sheriff’s Department has the responsibility of enforcing the laws of the state, both criminal and traffic, throughout Noble County. Enforcement support is provided to other local police departments when requested.


The Enforcement Division is comprised of 21 sworn officers, which are divided into various areas of responsibility, serving the community around the clock, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Due to the number of deputies actually on duty at any given time, it is sometimes necessary to prioritize calls for an officer’s response based upon the severity and number of calls received.


Shift Supervisors

  • Sergeant Terry Waikel, Second Shift
  • Sergeant Chris Moriarty, Third Shift


Merit Deputies

  • Deputy Doug Ewell (K-9 Handler)
  • Deputy Johnny Richie
  • Deputy Shane Coney
  • Deputy Brian Walker
  • Deputy Lesley Fox
  • Deputy Todd Weber
  • Deputy Shafter Baker
  • Deputy Vern Mast
  • Deputy Carey Coney
  • Deputy Brandon Chordas
  • Deputy Jason Koontz



Civil Process

  • *Officer Steve Lawson



  • Detective Sergeant Joe Hutsell
  • Detective Sergeant Shawn Dunafin
  • Sergeant Dean Gillespie, Crime Scene/Evidence Technician
  • One additional investigator is permanently assigned to the IMAGE Drug Task Force

School Resource Officer

  • Sergeant Tim (Buck) Leamon (Click here for more info)
  • Deputy David Worman (Click here for more info)

Court Security

  • *Officer Greg Bricker
  • *Officer Justin Stump

* Civilian employees with special deputy arrest powers.


Sheriff’s Reserve Program:

The Reserve Program was formed in 1977, as a volunteer component of the Sheriff’s Department and is currently comprised of 13 members who devote countless hours each year serving the community.


Reserve Deputies are appointed by the Sheriff, upon approval by the Sheriff’s Merit Board, and are professionally trained and duly sworn law enforcement  personnel serving in a capacity similar to a full-time merit officer. Reserve Deputies perform general law enforcement duties including crime prevention and investigation, responding to calls, traffic control and enforcement.


Each officer must complete a 40 hour pre-basic training course and maintain a minimum of 16 hours of approved in-service training each year. In addition, they attend monthly meetings and each officer works a minimum of 12 hours per month on patrol. Basic eligibility requirements for reserve program applicants are:

  • Must be a United States Citizen.
  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Weight must be in reasonable proportion to height.
  • Must be a high school graduate or holder of a valid graduation equivalency diploma.
  • Must possess a valid Indiana operator’s license.
  • Must not have had a felony conviction.
  • Must not have falsified an application.
  • Must be a United States Citizen.
  • Must be a United States Citizen.


If interested in becoming a member of the Sheriff’s Reserve Program, contact the Sheriff’s Department for further information.